Virginia Law Threatens to Jail Trick-Or-Treaters Older Than 12-Years-Old

If you live in Chesapeake, Virginia don’t plan on trick-or-treating on Halloween if you are over the age of twelve. Anyone that tries to trick-or-treat and is older than the age of twelve can face fines between $25 - $100. There is also a chance you could be sent to jail for up to six months according to the city code. And to top it all off, anyone trick-or-treating after 8 pm no matter your age can land you in jail for 30days.

Chesapeake City code:

(a) If any person over the age of 12 years shall engage in the activity commonly known as “trick or treat” or any other activity of similar character or nature under any name whatsoever, he or she shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and shall be punished by a fine of not less than $25.00 nor more than $100.00 or by confinement in jail for not more than six months or both.

(b) If any person shall engage in the activity commonly known as “trick or treat” or any other activity of similar character or nature under any name whatsoever after 8:00 p.m., he or she shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and shall be punished by a fine of not less than $10.00 nor more than $100.00 or by confinement in jail for not more than 30 days or both.

Full story:

https://kutv.com/news/offbeat/trick-or-treating-can-send-anyone-over-12-to-jail-in-virginia-towns

Photo: Big Stock Photo

title

Content Goes Here